Monday, 20 August 2012

Rowdies vs. Scorpions

Rowdies Lose to San Antonio Scorpions, Remain in Second Place
The Tampa Bay Rowdies lost to first place San Antonio Scorpions on Sunday night by a final score of 4-0.
With the loss, Tampa Bay is now tied for second place in the NASL standings with the Puerto Rico Islanders. The loss on Sunday night is only the second loss for Tampa Bay in its last eleven league matches. 

The Scorpions opened the scoring early with a goal by Walter Ramirez in the 8th minute of play. Ramirez was sent in one-on-one with Rowdies goalkeeper Jeff Attinella by a through ball from midfielder Aaron Pitchkolan.
NASL leading goal scorer Pablo Campos then added two more first half goals for the home team, including converting a penalty kick in the 29th minute. 
The penalty kick was awarded to San Antonio after Attinella took down Campos in the box attempting to make a save.
In response to the early goals by San Antonio, Rowdies head coach Ricky Hill made a first half substitution sending in defender Draymond Washington for defender Daniel Scott. The second half was a more equal match with both sides trading possession and scoring chances. The Rowdies made two more substitutions in the second half with forwards Fafa Picault and Evans Frimpong entering the match for Matt Clare and Daniel Antoniuk.
The Rowdies could not convert several corner kicks and free kicks, and Scorpions goalkeeper Daryl Sattler made a save on a long distance, hard shot on goal by Shane Hill late in the game to preserve the shutout. The Scorpions capped off the win with a goal in stoppage time by Esteban Bayona to make it 4-0.

San Antonio Scorpions FC : GK Daryl Sattler, D Greg Janicki, D Jonathan Greenfield, D Wes Knight, D Ryan Cochrane, M Aaron Pitchkolan (Javier Saavedra 80'), M Kevin Harmse (Captain), M Walter Ramirez (Esteban Bayona 68'), M Josue Soto, F Hans Denissen, F Pablo Campos (Jeff Cunningham 45')
Rowdies: GK Jeff Attinella, D Frankie Sanfilippo (Captain), D Daniel Scott (Draymond Washington 36'), D Takuya Yamada, D JP Rodrigues, M Luke Mulholland, M Stuart Campbell, M Shane Hill, F Matt Clare (Evans Frimpong 63'), F Mike Ambersley, F Daniel Antoniuk (Fafa Picault 63')

No comments: