Sunday, 29 April 2012

Rowdies vs. Strikers

Rowdies Extend Unbeaten Streak with 3-1 Win over Strikers
The Tampa Bay Rowdies notched a 3-1 victory over the Ft. Lauderdale Strikers as the teams resumed their long-standing rivalry Saturday night at Al Lang Stadium. With the victory, the Rowdies extend their unbeaten streak to four games and move into a tie for second place in the NASL standings with eight points.
Midfielder Keith Savage sent a perfect cross to the far post to forward Matt Clare, who deposited it in the bottom corner of the net for his first goal of the year in the 27th minute. Clare also scored against the Strikers in the final game of the 2011 regular season, a 2-0 Tampa Bay victory on September 24 in St. Petersburg.
In the 61st minute, forward Luke Mulholland was taken down in the box by a Strikers player, giving the Rowdies a penalty kick. Forward Mike Ambersley converted the penalty kick in the 62nd minute, scoring in the bottom left corner of the net for a 2-0 Tampa Bay lead. It was Ambersley's first goal of the year.
The Strikers cut the lead to 2-1 in the 90th minute on a goal by midfielder Walter Restrepo after an assist from Abe Thompson.
But the Rowdies put the game away in injury time as Savage made it 3-1 after a great assist from Ambersley. Savage received a pass from Ambersley, who had already eluded Strikers goalkeeper Matt Glaeser, and his shot hit the bottom right of the net for his first goal of the year.
On the night, Ambersley had a goal and an assist, giving him 11 points on four goals and three assists in his last five matches against the Strikers.

Scoring Summary
Rowdies: Matt Clare - 27th minute (assisted by Keith Savage)
Rowdies: Mike Ambersley - 62nd minute - Penalty Kick
Ft. Lauderdale: Walter Restrepo - 90th minute (assisted by Abe Thompson)
Rowdies: Keith Savage - 90th+ minute (assisted by Mike Ambersley)

Rowdies Lineup: GK Jeff Attinella, D Frankie Sanfilippo (Captain), D JP Rodrigues, D Andres Arango, D Takuya Yamada, M Stuart Campbell, M Keith Savage, M Luke Mulholland, F Matt Clare (Shane Hill 77'), F Mike Ambersley, F Tsuyoshi Yoshitake (Daniel Antoniuk 77')
Ft. Lauderdale Strikers Lineup: GK Matt Glaeser, D Toni Stahl (Captain), D Emelio Orozco (Leopoldo Morales 80'), D Jack Stewart, D Lance Laing, M Pecka, M Scott Lorenz, M Walter Restrepo, M Conor Shanosky (Mark Anderson 68'), F Aly Hassan (Abe Thompson 73'), F Darnell King

No comments: